Recipes: Hannah Heath’s Cottleston Pie

Hannah Heath is the author of a yet-to-be-published YA fantasy series, a blogger, a good friend of mine, and an awesome person overall. (Her name is a link to her blog.) On her blog, she posts stuff on writing tips, her writing, and her life as a Lymie (she has Lyme disease). She also posts her own recipes from books, imitations of the different kinds of food that the characters from that book ate. One of my favorite recipes of hers that I tried is Cottleston Pie from Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne.

Cottleston Pie is not a real pie, but hey, now it is! I’ve always loved that poem from Winnie the Pooh, and since I love pies, I have been wishing there was a recipe for Cottleston Pie for a while. And then in came this post on Hannah’s blog: In Which I Make Mini Cottleston Pies Inspired by A.A. Milne’s The World of Pooh. For my little sister’s tea party today, I decided to try this recipe (with a few of my own variations from the original recipe; I baked the crust BEFORE I put in the filling, my mistake). Scones were also made, and I mixed the leftover glaze for the scones with the glaze for the mini pies, which actually worked. It was easy and fast. So, even after baking the crusts again and experimenting with different ingredients and leftover glazes, the final result actually did turn out.

photo 2 (1)

And I am quite proud of my little Cottleston Pies, if I do say so myself. Credit and thanks go to Baker Hannah. Don’t forget to check out her blog!

4 thoughts on “Recipes: Hannah Heath’s Cottleston Pie

  1. Aw. Thank you so much, Susannah! And I’m so excited to hear that you tried out this recipe. I love your picture. =) I bet that glaze tasted really good on scones. It’s also awesome if you use it to sweeten rice milk (with a bit of vanilla).
    Anyway, thanks so much for the sweet shout-out! Excited to read more of your epic posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

