Set to be Released: In the Heart of the Sea

Disregarding seasonal topics, this December is going to be crazy. Why? Even if you aren’t a movie nerd, “Star Wars” will most likely be everyone’s answer. But there are also other cool movies hitting the screen this month besides Star Wars: The Force Awakens, one of them being In the Heart of the Sea, directed by Ron Howard and starring Chris Hemsworth, Benjamin Walker, and Cillian Murphy and the composer is Roque Baños.

Set to Be Released- In the Heart of the Sea - Tea with Tumnus

In the Heart of the Sea is a feature film based off a book, titled In the Heart of the Sea: The Tragedy of the Whaleship Essex by Nathaniel Philbrick, author of Why Read Moby Dick? I’m not going to be writing a full book review of In the Heart of the Sea today; I hope to write a Book and Movie Review for both the book and the movie (once I see it), but I have decided to post on what I thought of the book and why you should read and see it. Because it was a fantastic, mind-blowing read. What’s more, it is a true story and it inspired Melville to write Moby Dick.

600_440826936This nonfiction book takes place in the ocean, of course, but it starts out on Nantucket Island in the 19th century, a region completely isolated from the rest of the states so that it has an almost completely different culture. Whaling was the main industry in the 19th century; this was how people got their oil for lighting, and every man on Nantucket was expected to be a sailor and go on whaling voyages that could end up being 3 years long, to hunt whales and strip their blubber for oil lamp fuel (why, oh why did they forget Benjamin Franklin’s kite?). I won’t spoil the whole storyline here, but something horrible happens and results in death and cannibalism … I’ll just say that whales are very intelligent animals. Are you stoked yet?

I found the book hard to put down. It was the best nonfiction book I think I’ve ever read, and I plan on reading it again before I see the movie so that I have the real facts fresh in my mind; that way I can easily compare the book to the movie while seeing it. Therefore, I highly recommend this book to you, and, if you plan on seeing the movie, I highly suggest you read the book first (because it came first, after all). Not only is it a suspenseful read, but it is very informational and you will get a wonderfully interesting history dump; I thought I already knew enough about whaling from Moby Dick, documentaries, and basic history reading, but I knew nothing compared to the vastly interesting historical setting and the real story and characters from In the Heart of the Sea. Who says it’s not a universal fandom? It’s one of mine.

in-the-heart-of-the-sea-movie-poster
In the Heart of the Sea movie poster (It says March 2015 because that was the original release date; they pushed it forwards to December a while ago.)

So, all that to say, I am very excited about this movie and can’t wait to see it in theaters. The cast and crew pretty much confirms that it will be awesome; hey, we’ve got Thor in there, after all. Don’t forget, it’s coming out December 11, 2015 so don’t miss it! I’ll have a Book and Movie Review soon, so stay tuned.

You can go hang up lights now.

 

 

Leave a Reply

