Prophecy: A Harry Potter Poem {and a Discussion on J. K. Rowling}

One of my favorite things about Harry Potter is the complexity of the story. J. K. Rowling manages to write only 8 books focusing on an incredibly intricate plot without going crazy. Or maybe she did go crazy, a mental situation most writers tend to fall subject to, but she certainly didn’t lose her head enough to give up, and that’s only one of the many things I admire J. K. Rowling for.

Prophecy A Harry Potter Poem {and a Discussion on J. K. Rowling}  Tea with Tumnus

Another thing I love about this author is the world and characters she created and how a simple conflict can go so far, leaving behind little stories. These little stories tend to seem like rabbit trails from the main plot, but later on, you get hit in the face when you realize these “rabbit trails,” (also called plot bunnies if termed negatively) were really large hints that secretly foretold the rest of the story and how it involved the actions of the protagonist, antagonist, secondaries, and anti-villains, leading to a major climax in the end. And this is where we, as readers, break down (usually communicated in verbal outbursts, long periods of silence in contemplation, or convulsive sobbing).

Since I’m the type of person who lapses into long periods of contemplation after finishing complex, heartrending series like Harry Potter, I thought a lot. Most of my thoughts went something like How on the surface of planet Earth did she just write all that and have it make sense? I traced the current position of Harry’s world at the end of Deathly Hallows to the very beginning, when Hagrid came to pick up Harry in The Philosopher’s Stone (admit it, the original British title is way cooler). Of course, that didn’t help me in my mind blown state, but it stuck with me for weeks later.

I thought a lot about it. So I wrote something. I wrote a poem.

Ironically, it came to me quite by accident. I just started writing. I guess my brain was switched to Verse Format, and I just went on from there. But here you are: The first time I’ve ever shared any of my own writing on my blog besides a blog post.

 

Prophesy: A Poem by S. M. Metzler

 

I can’t remember, but people say

That long ago, one fateful day

The Dark Lord tried to have me killed

To keep a prophecy from being fulfilled.

 

They say it’s either him or me

A duel is evident, you see,

And if the Order can survive

I’ll have a chance, one fateful dive

 

A Death Eater slayed my uncle Black

Another my mentor he tried to attack

He succeeded, alas, the great man died

The killer was Snape, the trusted had lied.

 

And now everything is up to me

I must fulfill the prophecy

Once I come of age I will be able

To vanquish the Dark Lord and all at his table.

 

Short and simple. The story of Harry Potter summed up in a little poem. Feedback would be awesome! What did you think? Have you written any fan-poetry? Is that even an existing term? Because it should be.

Good writing to you.

5 thoughts on “Prophecy: A Harry Potter Poem {and a Discussion on J. K. Rowling}

  1. I personally suck at poetry, always have. But I enjoyed reading your prose, which is what I think is the most important 😉
    Keep writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

