Life Beyond Our Galaxy: In Which I Examine Possibilities and Rant about Sci-Fi

Last fall, I went to an ICR conference (Institute for Creation Research) and got to hear an astrophysicist, Jason Lisle, talk about how science confirms biblical creation. It was absolutely enthralling. The overall topic isn’t related to this post, but he did mention the impossibility of extraterrestrial life forms towards the end.

life-beyond-our-galaxy-tea-with-tumnus

He said there couldn’t be any such thing. God created the Earth, and nowhere else in His word does He say there are other worlds with other beings like us. He sent his one and only son, Jesus, to die for the sins of mankind. Jesus didn’t get reincarnated to die on other planets. Lisle said there are no such things as Vulcans and a Vulcan savior who can die for them (which is terribly sad, by the way).

There simply isn’t any scientific evidence of extraterrestrial life. The Bible, too, has nothing to say about the possibility. Remember, this is confirmation from a Christian astrophysicist.

Me: *hides mischievious evil writer grin*

Maybe there’s a better reason for why the sci-fi and fantasy genres appeal to me so much. Not just because they’re unique and otherworldly simply because they’re unique and otherworldly. Sure, it’s all fascinating.

But where did humans get such ideas?

I have a proposition to that question: We can mix and match animals, land and sea. There are probably strange demons floating around in our head (yes, like the fallen angels in Hell) giving us all sorts of outrageous ideas, the same way they give us the really bad ones. Said once the Puritans and Salem witch hunters.

But our ideas (or most of them) are beautiful. A lot of sci-fi and fantasy writers are Christian authors. I won’t give a list, because I’m sure a lot of us can think of them off the top of our extraordinary little heads. But think Middle-earth. Think Narnia and Malacandra and Diagon Alley. Putting Christian authors aside, think Star Wars and Doctor Who and Ender’s Game and Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. Full of strange, wonderful, and magnificent creatures. Maybe I’m weird, but I think they’re beautiful. They were once an unborn original idea from the brilliant mind of a human being. One of us.

(Oh wait, I’m not human. Duh.)

(Or maybe I’m pretending I’m not.)

Sorry, I must’ve been dreaming, where was I? Oh yes.

The point is, there’s got to be something that put those ideas in our head. God created so many different kinds of living creatures. Why, there are so many unexplored species in the ocean that may seem like aliens from a different planet; think of what it would be like to discover the octopus just a couple days from now, and what a shock it would be. So utterly alien. 

Yet from what inspired us to create these guys?

davy-jones-pirates-of-the ackbar doctor-octopus

The idea I have that I’m about to propose may be a little preposterous: Maybe God gave us these ideas for strange, supernatural, otherworldly creatures. I’m not exactly sure why I think this could be true, but God does give us thoughts and sparks for ideas and inspiration.

So why do I still hold to the childish dream that there might be other alien creatures out there? I’ll go through the reasons. And please, correct me if I’m wrong.

  1. Evidence doesn’t say it’s impossible.
  2. The Bible doesn’t say it’s impossible.
  3. Our ideas came from something, somewhere. If God Himself gave us these ideas, why?
  4. We all have an inner child. Our outer self is simply a callus that has grown because of life’s hardships, and it has grown around this inner child. We all must have believed at some point in time in Santa Claus, or the tooth fairy, with childish awe and wonder. We are all still little children. Why should we be ashamed to think like them, at least sometimes?
  5. It’s FUN to. I mean, what else would I write and read and glean such strange ideas from? What if we didn’t have sci-fi? What if we didn’t have … *lip trembles* … Star Wars?!?!?! (Give me some crying space.)

Maybe you’re reading this and you’re not a sci-fi or fantasy person. Maybe you just don’t understand us nerds. Maybe you do and you simply don’t get why I would think this way. And maybe you’re right. Maybe I’m just rambling.

But hey. I was just throwing the possibility out there.

I’m sure you have thoughts, opinions, agreements, or disagreements with what I said up there. (I know you do.) Why not type in your thoughts in that comment section below and I’ll read it and comment back and we’ll get some discussion going? It’s fun to talk about big questions. Cheers!

14 thoughts on “Life Beyond Our Galaxy: In Which I Examine Possibilities and Rant about Sci-Fi

  1. You’re absolutely right! there’s just something about the fantasy/scifi genres that I just can’t pinpoint. Maybe it is the creatures, or the setting, or a combination of things. Anyway, great post! I’m not sure that I’m on board with the whole creatures on other planets thing, but you brought up some interesting points.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What if we didn’t have … *my lip trembles*… Star Wars?! *eyes water a little* … what would I do with myself?! What would I have done with my nerd self?! Would I have been a nerd or geek at all?! I’m feeling a little nauseous thinking about it. 🤢

    Brilliant article switchblade! Loved it! This has been a topic of discussion for many years between several of us.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This was a fantastic post! Personally I’ve had the experience of believers giving us geeks who are also believers a lot of grief, and I feel it’s over nothing. You’re right, it’s not like it’s the 11th Commandment: “Thou shalt not consider space aliens to truly exist.” And I think it’s just ridiculous for those in our own faith/community to say we shouldn’t ever think about things off this Earth – when God Himself lives in the cosmos. Good on you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks so much!! It’s so cool to know of another Christian who thinks the same way. 😀 I’m glad such an 11th Commandment doesn’t exist, lol! You have a good point when you said God Himself lives in the cosmos. Only He knows if there really are other worlds and creatures out there, and maybe our sci-fi ideas came from Him in the long run. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I really feel too many Christians have become too “religious” these days, and some of the things they push as being “necessary” for believers truly aren’t, and they are actually turning more people away from looking for the existence of God. I totally loved it when Pope Benedict said he thought there was nothing wrong with wondering if aliens/UFOs were real. Yeah, why couldn’t God have planted the idea in us to begin with? 🙂 I’m so excited that you expressed these thoughts!

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Great post! I definitely believe that aliens could exist. Although I might be biased, since my book does involve aliens (ok, people with super powers that are on another planet, does that count?) The thing is, the Bible is a) not a science textbook, b) from Earth’s perspective. It’s purpose is to instruct people on Earth on how to live and explain who Jesus is. Not tell us whether aliens exist. For all we know, some people in a galaxy far, far away, could have their own version of the Bible. I could be wrong, but I’m guessing it wouldn’t mention us. Last time I checked, we exist (right?). Do aliens exist, who knows? I personally think it’s possible! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My church history professor was a scifi fanatic and got me into the genre. He once compiled a list of quotes by Spurgeon which he argued proved that Spurgeon believed in aliens 🙂

    Maybe writing is exercising the image of God in us. Because God is the creator of the universe and we are made in his image, when we write and create our own worlds and creatures etc we are simply displaying the image of God?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m totally on board with that idea! That our otherworldly stories are displaying the image of God is sort of what I was trying to communicate in the post (but your wording is better, I think :D). Maybe Spurgeon DID believe in aliens, I mean, C. S. Lewis believed in fairies. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

