Finding Neverland – A Guest Post by Brianna Merrit

Today I have a fabulous treat for you: I’ve asked the lovely writer Brianna Merrit to guest post on my blog! She has some wonderful inspiration and epic encouragement to share with you all and I am honored to have her do just that on my blog. Go ahead and enjoy! (Warning: Use fairy dust in moderation but don’t be afraid to fly.)

A Guest Post by Brianna Merrit Finding Neverland - Tea with Tumnus.jpg


That…is Neverland.”

~J.M. Barrie

If you’re a writer or anyone loosely associated with the Arts you can probably find that you identify, perhaps even relate, to the character of J.M. Barrie in the 2004 film Finding Neverland. I’ve been involved in the Arts since I was 3 years old when my mom enrolled me in Ballet class. And for as long as I can remember I’ve loved telling stories through dance as well as the written word, so to say that I felt a special connection to Johnny Depp’s character, J.M. Barrie, would be putting it lightly.

As Peter Pan is one of my all-time favorite fictional characters, I’m somewhat floored that I only saw Finding Neverland for the first time this year. But let me tell you—it was well worth the wait.

tumblr_mzijx1vvyk1r188vdo1_500

In the same vein as Saving Mr. Banks (another film that I laughed, cried, and dreamed myself through), the film transported the ever-present writer inside of me to the world of J.M. Barrie and what it was like for him to come up with his greatest work.

Exploring the movie’s themes and underlying messages, you can find many lessons to be learned and many nuggets of wisdom to glean, but I want to look at two of them in particular.

One.

“You find a glimmer of happiness in the world,

there’s always someone who wants to destroy it.” – J.M. Barrie

Have you ever been told you can’t do something? Or that you’re not good enough?

“That’ll never work” and “Don’t get your hopes up” are very common phrases told to the dreamers of the world. Three groups of people have seemed to emerge from the masses: the dream achievers, the dream stealers, and those without a dream. (Think about the “I’ve Got A Dream” song from Tangled and you’ll know what I’m talking about). Out of the three groups the biggest happen to be the dream stealers because they were once the dream achievers. Because someone chose to steal their aspirations away they see fit to steal others as well. We can’t let that happen. Do you know why?

Everyone wants to have a dream. And even more than that, they want to see their dream take off on fairy wings.

As Jefferson, the Mad Hatter from Once Upon A Time says, “You know what the issue is with this world? Everybody wants a magical solution to their problem, and everyone refuses to believe in magic.”

If you’re a writer or dancer or artist don’t let other people steal away the happiness you find in your magical creativity. In fact, never stop sharing it with them because they are the people who need it the most.
believe-finding-neverland-gif-hot-Favim.com-4458231.gif

Two.

“I’m not Peter Pan. He is.”

– Peter Llewelyn Davies

What we create defines us. It is who we are as an individual, and as a culture. Art is essential to our world, and stories are at the very center of every art form out there.
Painting, Dancing, Singing, Writing…

They’re all forms of story performed by storytellers.

Be transparent in your work. Be honest and vulnerable.

Be you.

findingnever


img_1070

Brianna Merrit

I’m a dragon-loving, tea-addicted writer who loves to share the joy of adventure and grace of redemption through my writing. I write Christian Speculative Fiction and Fantasy for teens and young adult readers .

As well as writing, I love dancing and currently teach Ballet and Jazz in Virginia where I live with my family and spoiled rotten Dalmation, Valentine.

briannamerrit.com

4 thoughts on “Finding Neverland – A Guest Post by Brianna Merrit

Leave a Reply

