Aesthetic Boards for Writers: A Guest Post by Harley Rae

This is Susannah, jumping in really quick to introduce this guest post by Harley Rae. I have been ridiculously busy in the last several weeks, what with school, musical theater, etc. that I haven’t been able to post for a long time. Thankfully, the amazing human Harley was willing to lighten the burden of this dangerous dilemma by writing up something awesome for this Tuesday to learn from and enjoy!

Aesthetic Boards for Writers - A Guest Post by Harley Rae

Hello! First off, I’d like to thank my good friend for letting me write for her! It’s seriously an honor.

You’re probably wondering what I’m going to be writing about today. I’m going to take this wonderful opportunity and write about aesthetic boards. Harley, what does an aesthetic board have to do with writing? Did you say aesthetic “bored”? Because I’m getting bored already. DUDE, STAY WITH ME.

 

What do I mean by aesthetic board? Let me give you the dictionary’s explanation of aesthetic: “concerned with beauty or the appreciation of beauty.” Another explanation is this: “a set of principles underlying and guiding the work of a particular artist or artistic movement.” If that didn’t clear it up, an aesthetic board is basically a board of really pretty pictures. That makes sense, right?

I personally use Pinterest to create my aesthetic boards. Pinterest has boards that you can create and store all the photos that you find. If you’re not familiar with Pinterest, I suggest you get an account right now. Also, Pinterest is where I get a TON of my writing inspiration. Now, you don’t have to make your aesthetic board on Pinterest (I just highly recommend it). You could also make a college in a photo editing software, or make a folder on your desktop. Basically, an aesthetic board is just a place where you collect pretty photos.

You can make aesthetic boards about practically anything. I have boards about bikes, books, colors, flowers, light, music, etc. You know why it’s amazing for writers? Let me tell you the six reasons why I love using aesthetic boards for my writing:

1. Ideas

I get a lot of my ideas from my aesthetic boards. A lot of the time it sparks my imagination. Sometimes I just need some visuals to actually picture my story.

1 - StolenCrown

 

2. Character inspiration

When making up characters, it helps to see pictures of actual people to help you with descriptions. Now, you may not find exactly what you’re looking for, but I come pretty close most of the time.

2 - faesforlater

 

3. Location

I don’t know about you, but I have definitely not been to all the places I write about. When I want to write about England, I have to look up pictures to help me describe it.

3 - places

 

4. Weapons and wardrobe

When writing about medieval times or elves for instance, you might need some help with weapons and wardrobe. I normally don’t wear ball gowns to church, so I don’t have them just lying around. And when it comes to weapons, I don’t know much, so I need all the help I can get.

4 - weapons

 

5. Research for basically anything visual in my book

Old castles. Pirate ships. Forests. Frozen lakes. Different planets. Rare animals. You name it. Anything that you need to visualize, it’s great to have a collection of pictures to help.

5 - untoldstory

6. It gives me a moment to breathe

You know the moment when you want to take a break from actually writing, but you don’t want to stop working on your project? Well, when that happens, you can work on your aesthetic board! It gives you a moment to breathe.

You can check out my Pinterest page HERE to see some other aesthetic boards!

Do you have any aesthetic boards? I would love to see them! Make sure you comment down below with a link so I can check them out. I hope this post helps you understand what an aesthetic board is, and helps you with your story. Thanks for reading!

And make sure to take a moment, to stop – and look at the flowers.

6 - flowers

Awesome, right? Check out Harley’s blog and follow her for more awesomeness. Thank you for reading!

 

2 thoughts on “Aesthetic Boards for Writers: A Guest Post by Harley Rae

  1. I love it! I have waaaaaay too many boards though! haha I need to combine some of them, but Pinterest is absolutely fabulous for writers. You just have to be careful not to get stuck in the dreamy pool of Pinterest forever! It can be hard to get back to writing, especially if you find the food…. then you have to make like 200 really yummy things…. 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

