My Writing So Far in 2017 + A Wattpad Publication!

Things have shifted crazily with writing this past year. As most of you know, my NaNoWriMo 2016 novel Fiction’s Lie is on the way to indie publication through Amazon’s Createspace, but there’s a lot of other projects going on as we speak I type. I’ve developed new worlds and characters, rewrote some fanfiction, stressed out over Camp NaNoWriMo, and jumped back into my main project, Netherworld. 

As indie publication looms brightly on the horizon, I’ve started getting a little frightened with the fact that pretty soon, I’m going to have to put together deadlines and release dates and post schedules for marketing. Which means lots of organization and planning, which is why I aspire to be a time lord or invent a way to create clones of myself. If only, right?

spideygif

So, without further ado, here are some highlights of my writing world, as well as a very exciting announcement. The announcement? *accentuated advertiser’s voice* Read more to find out. (Or look at the blog post’s title.)

 My Writing So Far in 2017 + A Wattpad Publication! - Tea with Tumnus

1. Fiction’s Lie

This contemporary/drama/fantasy novel probably has received most of my attention, having been written as 50K words in 30 days. You can imagine all the editing that needed (and still needs) to take place. It’s still in the works, and after I apply feedback from a few friends and family members, I’ll post asking for any beta readers to raise their hands. In fact, if any of you have had experience with beta readers and have some tips or words of caution for me, I would love to get some advice. You can easily comment on this post or DM me through Twitter. I might be able to pull it off freestyle (like that’s going to go well) but I’m probably going to need all the help I can get.

 

2. Netherworld

The title itself is a work in progress. This is my oldest baby, and the story idea and characters were born around four or five years ago. Over that time, I have 1) rewritten it three times (it’s going to need a fourth), 2) come up with too much backstory that forced me to divide it into a Part 1 and 2, and 3) written up a 30-page outline, chock full of chapter/plot/character details to remind myself of what exactly I’m writing. My adventure with Netherworld has been awesome; since it’s been in the works for years, I’ve developed it probably way more than I should have, which makes it all the more exciting and challenging and full of feels that ends up in me fangirling over my own story. Cue embarrassed smirk.

sherlocksmirk

Right now, I’m rewriting my outline. I’m changing up a lot of things and reminding myself of major plot points and backstories since soon I’m going to start working on it again. NaNoWriMo last year forced me to put Netherworld on the backburner for a while so that I could write Fiction’s Lie. I needed the break, but wasn’t expecting it’d be this long. Needless to say, I’m very excited to start working on it again.

 

3. Squid and the Girl of Sanducy

I developed this story idea a few months ago and I got so excited about it I wrote a whole outline and created a Pinterest board for it. I fell in love with the plot, the setting, and the characters and I couldn’t wait to start writing it. When CampNaNoWriMo approached, I had the perfect opportunity. For some odd reason, though, my enthusiasm for Squid and the Girl of Sanducy went down the drain on the first day of camp. I’d love to call it writer’s block, but I think I was afraid of not making it “good enough.” (I’d like to point my finger at worldbuilding.) But I made myself start and even though it’s far from perfect, I’m on a roll. Gotta keep reminding myself that it’s only a first draft. #GetOutofEditingMode. After all, it has lots of promise and potential for a fun, light-hearted fantasy adventure with Hunger Games and How to Train Your Dragon vibes (minus the foul humor and endless violence).

 

4. I Published Something on Wattpad…A Visit to the Psychologist: A Sherlock Fanfiction Story

Now for the “very exciting” announcement! I have posted a short story on Wattpad. I just recently picked up a Sherlock fanfiction short I wrote two years ago and decided to edit it. It turned into a rewriting project, and I saw it as potential for a Wattpad publication. I’ve been wanting to post some of my writing on there for some time now; I’ve enjoyed reading other writers’ stories on there and I like the system of direct feedback and engaging between authors and readers. I think Wattpad could be an excellent alternative to indie publishing, depending on where you want to go with your story.

Synopsis:

There is no case. Sherlock is bored. And the wall just downgraded another hole.

Only three days has passed since Doctor John Watson moved into the flat with Sherlock Holmes, and hearing the gunshots is the last straw. Feeling genuinely concerned about the sanity of his roommate, he suggests that Sherlock visit the psychologist for once. Sherlock agrees reluctantly, knowing that nothing will help him except for a case. But in the end, it’s Sherlock Holmes having fun bamboozling the psychologist with his skills in deduction, a turn in events that lifts the spirits of the caseless detective.

My sister Renee, a very talented artist, drew the cover, based on some clip art I wanted her to follow, and I love it very much. I count myself a lucky writer with a sibling who will make amazing cover art for cheap.

Better cover art #2

The views are accumulating. Each new view it gets, I get more excited because the number increase means another soul read my writing without my permission or stealing my drafts to read behind a locked door. That’s because I published something. Maybe not traditionally or officially, but I put a story I’ve slaved over out there with my name under it.

I’m an author now, aren’t I?

doctorexcited

If you have some stories on Wattpad, by all means, enlighten me about them! I am on the lookout for some good authors and stories on there.

How is your writing going? Are you participating in July’s CampNaNoWriMo? And how goes that? Any advice on having beta readers? How do you manage working on multiple stories simultaneously? After all, I need people of intelligence on this sort of mission … quest … thing. Best of luck to all your writers out there. Allons-y!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “My Writing So Far in 2017 + A Wattpad Publication!

  1. Honestly, this will be my first time having beta readers, so I plead the fifth at this moment.

    I am not on Wattpad, though that may occur in the near future as well.

    Camp NaNo would’ve been the death of me this round, so I allons-y-ed it.

    GOOD FOR YOU, for taking the plunge with your novel! I may be open to beta-reading myself, depending on what month you’d be hoping to complete that. Otherwise I would be more than happy to help you with an ARC/promotion/sacrificing fresh pears to get you beaucoup sales. Let me know how it goes!

    Like

    • CampNaNo is pretty difficult. I guess I just don’t like being pressured with time and deadlines, but I do need to get into the habit of being organized with that sort of thing. 😛

      Thanks so much for offering to help me with marketing and beta reading! I’m not exactly sure when I’m going to start doing all that stuff, but hopefully this year. I do know I’ll ask for beta readers, and I really like the idea of ARCs, but I guess I’ll know later one when I’ve done more research on all that.

      Like

      • Organization is important. Deadlines are for the birds.

        My ARC readers provided some valuable early marketing and reviews. I’d advise them to any indie author (since we don’t have a multi-million-dollar budget/publisher to arrange 100 copies to go out to the newspapers and magazines).

        Like

  2. I may have to see if I can get on Wattpad with a friend’s account to read that! Sherlock fanfiction is always fun to read. 🙂 Also, your book sounds super interesting from what I’ve read. I’ve been doing a lot with beta readers this past month, so I do have a few tips, if you don’t mind me sharing! 😀 Mostly remember that what a beta reader says is their opinion and possibly personal preference, so don’t let it get you down too much if they suggest a lot of changes (plus, they want to make it a better story, so they’re trying to help you!). You also don’t have to make all of the changes they suggest, because it’s still your story, but if several of them comment on the same thing, seriously consider what they’re saying.
    And also, one thing that’s helped me is sending out a document with a few specific questions about characters and plot points that I had concerns about. It can help you get some more specific, detailed feedback. 🙂
    I hope that helps! Good luck with the betas! 😀

    Like

  3. Eep! All of these sound so awesome!
    As soon as you said Squid and the Girl of Sandusky had HTTYD and HG vibes that was all it took to excite me 😀 and from the snippets you’ve posted of Fictions Lie it looks like it’s going to be a really good book as well.
    Anyways good stuff all around, I’m really excited to see all this come to publication! And I know I probably won’t be of much use, but if you need any help with marketing or anything don’t hesitate to ask.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! I’m totally in the same boat with my Camp NaNo story. I got so excited (and made multiple Pinterest boards too), and then when NaNo came around…well, it didn’t go well. I decided to ditch that story and start a new one, actually. So you’re doing better than me! You actually stuck with your story! 😀 Anyway, awesome post and all of your stories sound awesome! I can’t wait to read Fictions Lie!!

    Like

  5. Wow that is so cool! I’ll be definitely be heading over to check it out soon! I haven’t had any beta readers yet but I’ve been a beta reader a few times, and I know it’s very helpful to have a list of things the author wants us to watch for (Don’t know if that helps). I hope you stories come along well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

